“CAN’T ANYBODY HERE PLAY THIS HERE GAME HERE?” – CASE #2
If you have not read “CAN’T ANYBODY HERE PLAY THIS HERE GAME HERE?” – INTRO, you may want to do so before proceeding to any of the cases. However, you probably will survive even if you don’t! Don’t forget about CASE #1: PART I and CASE #1: PART II !!
“CAN’T ANYBODY HERE PLAY THIS HERE GAME HERE?” – CASE #2
Ghostwritten by Casey Stengel with Assists by Yogi Berra
Doctored by Al, the Plumber of the Depths of Lunacy
Please reference the following link for the New York Times Bridge Column on 2012/06/02 (print copy date)
Of course, this is a relatively tame hand (at least by my standards), and here is a copy of Phillip Alder’s report of the proceedings at both tables, repeated for your convenience:
Reisinger Knockout Teams at Eastern States Regional
By PHILLIP ALDER
Published: June 1, 2012
The two main events at the Eastern States Regional in Manhattan were the Goldman Pairs and the Reisinger Knockout Teams.
The Reisinger started on Memorial Day, and the 52-board final was played on Thursday and Friday evenings. At half time, Margie Gwozdzinsky, Ira Herman, Allen Kahn, Jeffrey Rothstein, Pietro Campanile and Brian Glubok led by 24 international match points against Jared Lilienstein, Michael Polowan, Jeff Aker, William Ehlers, Glenn Milgrim and Barry Rigal.
The diagramed deal occurred on the first day. It nearly became one of the most remarkable ever.
At the first table Gwozdzinsky (West) opened one spade; North overcalled five clubs; Herman (East) made a card-showing double; West control-bid six clubs in an effort to reach a grand slam; and East signed off in six spades.
North led the club king. South ruffed and shifted to a heart, three players being very surprised when North discarded.
Six spades bid and made.
The auction at the second table is in the diagram. Initially Rothstein (North) settled for a quiet two-club overcall, but on the second round he jumped to five clubs. Then, on the third round, he decided to sacrifice at the seven-level, bidding six no-trump to show long clubs and secondary diamonds. Kahn (South) corrected to seven diamonds, doubled by East.
West led the heart ace. Declarer trumped in dummy, ruffed a club in his hand, played a trump to dummy’s ace and led the club king. When East played low, South discarded a heart. He was worried that if he ruffed, and West had started with three clubs, he would have gone down four. This way, he was sure of down one at most.
West won with his ace and led the spade king. Declarer trumped in the dummy and played winning clubs through East. When he ruffed, South overruffed, cashed the diamond king, trumped a card in the dummy and took the rest of the clubs.
Plus 1,430 and minus 100 gave the Kahn team 16 imps on the board.
But it could have been more.
Afterward Kahn thought that he should have made the grand slam. The spades were presumably 6-4, based on the bidding. West had to have the club ace to justify his six-spade bid and to be void in diamonds to pass over seven diamonds, inviting seven spades. Also, given West’s aggressive bidding, he was more likely to be 6=5=0=2 than 6=4=0=3.
If South had ruffed the second club, bringing down West’s ace, he would have made his contract. He would have trumped something in the dummy and led winning clubs to pick up East’s trumps, as just described. Then plus 1,430 and plus 1,630 would have given the Kahn team 22 imps.
Perhaps Rothstein is the first person ever to use six no-trump as the unusual no-trump to show both minors, preparing for an apparent sacrifice at the seven-level. And when did you last see both sides able to make a grand slam? Note that seven spades by East is unbeatable.
•The women’s and senior trials are taking place in Schaumburg, Ill. These will select the United States teams for the World Mind Sports Games in Lille, France, starting on Aug. 9. Details are at usbf.org, and play can be watched live at bridgebase.com.
First, just as a bridge insider aside, do you remember ever seeing the North-South minor suit distribution (even if reversed, and not the same cards) in a grand slam before? Later on, Casey and I also may be back to duke it out with you about that rather infamous famous deal.
After reading the article, I immediately contacted Surely’s Institute. They patched me in to Casey so I could relay it to him, even though there were none of those weird relays that some players use to increase the chances that they have no idea what any of partner’s bids mean. I asked Casey what he thought about the play portion of the deal. He opened fire with his typical English(?) spitfire lingo. I emailed some of Casey’s bombastic “wisdom” to Phillip, but of course, per the modern non-plagiarism rules, I took credit for it myself. Not only that — I should get a big reward for having to put up with the batty Old Perfessor. Anyway, Phillip already was aware of some of it. However, he had to cut some parts because The Times limits his space.
Obviously, The Times is beyond absurd! Why waste so much space on all the standard lunacies? Governments and politicians who are clueless about many matters and corrupt about everything else. Businesses who misfire on all cylinders. Innumerable schools in which the highest test scores are ZERO. Athletes who continually screw up trying to hit, kick, push, carry, etc. a ball or whatever all over the planet. That is news? Please write to The Times, and DEMAND that they stop this drivel, or else you will cancel your subscription. If doesn’t matter if you really are a subscriber or not. Just tell them you are using your pen name, even if you type the letter. Anyway, then there will be much more room for the much more important bridge news stories and deals of the day!
OK, that’s enough from me. Go to it!
Al, the Plumber of the Depths of Lunacy!
P. S. Standard Boilerplate: Remember, Casey is interested in real life bridge and sound procedures, not doubledummy success or result merchant type stuff, unless otherwise specified. For example, even if you get the best possible result, but don’t go about it properly, he’s going to BATter you — and you had better hope it only will be verbally! That will be unmerciful enough. He may refer the worst of the spaced out offenders, whether on offense or defense, to Ming the Merciless!
This series is primarily about lunacies during the play. Sometimes only one player might have made an unrecognized error. On other hands, many players may have made the same mistake. Examples in which there is more than one type of error also could be lurking out there. Unless stated to the contrary, please consider the entire case as presented — regardless how many players, tables, plays, hands, etc. are given. In any situation, Casey is yearning for those who find every edge (but no spitballs and the like at those times!), no matter how big or small it is.
However, you may opt to go further. It can’t hurt to get some extra practice! Please feel free to make any other comments about bidding, how other vulnerabilities or scoring conditions may affect the deal, etc.
PSS: For many types of bridge and non-bridge lunacies, pictures, etc. that do not appear on my blogs due to technical and other reasons, please reference —
My restarted Facebook page: Al the Plumber
Or send your Email address for inclusion on the bridge and/or non-bridge free “public service” Email lists.